Joe Urso Nets National Coach of the Year Honor

Joe Urso Nets National Coach of the Year Honor

GREENSBORO, N.C. - For the sixth time in his 19-year career at the helm of the University of Tampa's baseball program, Joe Urso has been recognized as the 2019 ABCA/Diamond National Coach of the Year for Division II.

The awards have been announced in all collegiate and high school divisions. The National and Regional Coaches of the Year will be honored on Friday, Jan. 3 in the main clinic hall prior to the start of clinics at the 76th annual ABCA Convention, which will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.

Urso led his program to another magical season as his Spartans won the program's eighth national championship, and fifth under the leadership of UT's all-time winningest coach. A perfect 9-0 postseason record helped UT hoist another crown, also marking the fifth since 2006. In 2019, Tampa was 45-14 and also saw four players selected in the 2019 Major League Baseball Draft. He now boasts a career record of 831-242-1 as he became the fastest coach to 800 victories with a win over Albany State this season.

He was also named the national coach of the year in 2006, 2007, 2013, 2014 and 2015, in addition to 2019.

2019 ABCA/Diamond National Coaches of the Year
NCAA Div. I: Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt (Tenn.)
NCAA Div. II: Joe Urso, Tampa (Fla.)
NCAA Div. III: Scott Laverty, Champan (Calif.)
NAIA: Billy Berry, Tennessee Wesleyan
NJCAA Div. I: Anthony Gilich, Central Arizona
NJCAA Div. II: Raydon Leaton, Northern Oklahoma-Enid
NJCAA Div. III: Keith Gorman, Cumberland County (N.J.)
Pacific Assoc. Division: John Altobelli, Orange Coast (Calif.)
High School Div. I: Chan Brown, Parkview (Ga.)
High School Div. II: Ricky Griffin, Argyle (Texas)
High School Div. III: Aaron Frey, Sabetha (Kans.)

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee. 

About Diamond
Diamond Sports designs and manufactures high-quality baseball and softball products for all levels, while striving to inspire participation in baseball and softball with character, integrity and respect. Diamond Sports is based in Southern California and is proud to be the Official Ball of many great college conferences, as well as leagues, tournaments and organizations nationwide. You can find Diamond on the web at

Click here for complete release