Tampa Places 130 on SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll

Tampa Places 130 on SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll

MELBOURNE, Fla. –  A record 1,395 student-athletes have been named to the 2019 Sunshine State Conference Spring Commissioner's Honor Roll, announced Wednesday, July 10 by Commissioner Ed Pasque. A total of 255 student-athletes carried a perfect 4.00 grade-point average for the semester.

The University of Tampa had a total of 130 student-athletes named to the Honor Roll, coming from a total of 12 teams. The women's lacrosse team led the way in total selections with 23. UT also had a total of 27 student-athletes post a perfect 4.0 GPA during their season of competition.

This year's numbers break the previous SSC Commissioner's Spring Honor Roll records of 1,303 student-athletes honored and 238 perfect grade-point averages set in 2018. For the first time in history, the SSC surpassed 2,000 student-athletes on the Commissioner's Honor Roll in an Academic year with 671 in the Fall and 1,395 this Spring (2,066).

To be eligible for the Spring SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll, a student-athlete must post a minimum grade-point average of 3.20 on a scale of 4.00. Participants in the sports of men's and women's basketball, men's and women's swimming, men's and women's golf, men's and women's tennis, men's and women's lacrosse, women's rowing, baseball, and softball are eligible for the spring honor roll.

Having won 111 Division II National Championships, the SSC's student-athletes have also proven to be successful in the classroom. For the eighth consecutive year, the SSC boasts an Academic Success Rate of 86-percent. The mark ranks first among all NCAA Division II conferences for the third straight year.

Following is a list of University of Tampa student-athletes named to the SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll.

Baseball (8) – Nick DeTringo, Nick Derr, Drew Ehrhard, Sam Freitas, Jordan Leasure, Keven Pimentel (4.0), Bo Weiss, Colton Widdows

Men's Basketball (3) – Brendan Baker, Anthony Gamble, Zach Patterson (4.0)

Women's Basketball (4) – Emily Eshoo (4.0), Julia Ingram (4.0), Julia McClure, Dori Nagy

Men's Golf (6) – Gray Barnes, Steven Cacchio, Nate Kosarich, Robert Montagnino, Jake Muehlschlegel (4.0), Spencer Olson

Women's Golf (6) – Sofia Cadavid (4.0), Heather Kipniss, Kensi Olson, Kiira Riihijarvi, Laura Salgado (4.0), Sydney Stengel

Men's Lacrosse (12) – Chris Ciesla, Luke Curran, Kyle Jung, Jake Levine, Owen Matukas, Tim Miles, Sean Nizolek, Luke Robideaux, Michael Schwedes, Alexander Starr, Jack Tyrrell, Marc Whitaker

Women's Lacrosse (23) – Sarah Bell (4.0), Hannah Bush, Abby Coccagna, Rachel Crawford, Graeme Eber (4.0), Yasmina Hernandez, Paige Johnson, Kayla Kosubinsky, Rachel Lacy, Lauren McNeill, Lizzie Pierpont, Allie Popelar (4.0), Megan Sengelmann, Paige Shortt, Erin Sistek (4.0), Bonnie Sopher, Kristyn Staley, Bridget Sutter, Claire Swanson (4.0), Carly Vaccaro, Danielle Waters, Mallary Weinsz (4.0), Kylie Yang

Rowing (16) – Kayla Bell, Lauren Blake, Madeline Davidoff, Maxie-Lew Dunn, Sienna Gutierrez (4.0), Erin Hanson, Marissa Henderson, Sarah Manno, Natasha Nichols, Liv Nikopoulos, Brooke Rogers, Samantha Stewart, Katherine Sturmer, Hanna Vernetti (4.0), Samantha Volkens, Erin Winslow

Softball (11) – Stephanie Balmer, Alissa Carfora, Lexie Chevalier, Kailee Clark, Cristina Clauberg (4.0), Maddie Farrell, Emalee Jansen, Sam Kaye, Erica Matich (4.0), Lauren Reyes, Breanna Taphouse

Men's Swimming (21) – Felix Bartels (4.0), Kellen Broaderick (4.0), Hugo Bustamante, Thomas Clark, Jared Fitzgerald, Cole Forbes, Dominic Griffin (4.0), Mikael Haugen, Luke Hene, Andreas Johnsen (4.0), Youssef Khowessah (4.0), Forest Lundy, Christy Moon, Zane Richardson, Dominic Russo, Grant Ruster, Brett Saunders (4.0), Marvin Slanschek, Yannick Smith, Nick Tinucci, Brian Valedon

Women's Swimming (14) – Megan Arnold, Jessica Blanchard, Victoria Brierley, Anna Dzouenko, Lindsey Grater (4.0), Victoria Horsman, Emily Pfeifer, Francesca Rusca, Emily Schlosser, Courtney Sherwood, Cat Sterlacci (4.0), Jessie Tobin, Megan Waddell, Han van Loock (4.0)

Tennis (6) – Amanda Baxter, Dakota Busch (4.0), Corbin Dorsey, Vanina Iordanova (4.0), Nicoline Palmgren, Giulia Tatini

FULL LISTING: 2019 Spring SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll (.pdf)