Tampa Runs Away with Sixth Straight SSC Women's Cross Country Title

Box Score

ORLANDO, Fla. - The University of Tampa won its sixth straight Sunshine State Conference Women’s Cross Country Championship on Saturday at the UCF Cross Country Complex. The UT men's team also competed, placing third in its event.

The Spartans ran away with the title for the 10th time in 11 years, notching 27 points. Nova Southeastern finished second with 68 points. Rollins edged out Saint Leo for third with 108 points, while the Lions were just one point back with 109.  Florida Southern placed fifth with 118 points. Florida Tech took sixth place with 129 points. In its first season of cross country competition in 11 years, Lynn was seventh with 186 points.

Nova Southeastern’s Alexandria Palm was the top runner in the 6K race, crossing the finish line with a time of 21:51.80.

Tampa placed six runners on the All-Championship Team, which is comprised of the top 10 finishers. Freshman Laura Yarrow led the Spartans, placing second with a time of 22:11.00.  Kelly Hagan finished fourth in 22:23.00.  Kaia Hampton was fifth (22:30.00), and Danielle Kissel was seventh (23:01.10).  Courtney Ragan (23:25.70) and Iolani Scanlan (23:28.90) finished ninth and tenth, respectively.

Rollins’ Lauryn Falcone completed the course in 22:16.30 to take the third spot.  Her twin sister, Justine, also earned All-Championship honors by finishing eighth with a mark of 23:02.50.

In her first SSC Cross Country Championship, Lynn’s Gabriella Wuyke also landed All-Championship recognition with a sixth-place finish (22:54.90).

Nova Southeastern won its first SSC Men’s Cross Country Championship as the Sharks tallied 41 points to edge out Florida Southern, which took second place with 47 points. Tampa placed third with 67 points, followed by Florida Tech with 78. Saint Leo finished fifth with 110 points, and Rollins was sixth with 188.

Florida Tech’s Chris Cacciapaglia was the top finisher in the men’s 8K race, posting a winning time of 25:56.60.

The top 10 runners are designated as the All-Championship Team.

NSU’s Kevin Meagher registered a second-place finish, crossing the finish line with a mark of 26:06.30.  Meagher was joined in the top-five by teammate Timo Kilp, who finished fifth in 26:20.00.  Fellow Shark Jordan Brown also earned All-Championship recognition, placing seventh in 26:25.90.

Florida Southern’s David Tomchinsky recorded a time of 26:13.80 to place third.  Tomchinsky was joined on the All-Championship Team by fellow Moccasins Chris Yanichko (6th – 26:23.00), Jose Perez (8th – 26:26.70), and Chris Trebilcock (9th – 26:36.10).

Florida Tech’s David Boiywo completed the course with a mark of 26:17.10 to finish fourth.

Tampa’s Lewis Price rounded out the top 10 with a time of 26:38.60.

The Spartans will now shift their focus to the 2012 NCAA Division II South Regional, which is scheduled for November 3. The race will be hosted by the University of Alabama in Huntsville.

Fans may follow University of Tampa athletics on Twitter (, Facebook (, YouTube ( and Instragram (tampaspartans). UT also offers blAst, a free text messaging service that sends text alerts following all Spartan events. To sign up, please register at

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share
Spartans on FacebookSpartans on TwitterSpartans on YouTubeText BlastLive StatsLive BroadcastsRSS FeedGet E-mail AlertsMobile Website